St John the Baptist, Holywell
One manual and pedal, four stops, William Hill and Son 1891.
A hidden gem in the hamlet of Holywell, Cambridgeshire. This small instrument provides accompaniment for a full choir and dedicated congregation each week of the year.
St John the Baptist is the parish church of the villages of Needingworth and Holywell; there has been a church on this site since 990 AD. The present church dates from the 13th century (the tower was added in the 16th century, reputedly acquired from Ramsey Abbey). In the churchyard stands the Holy Well, the spring which gives the surrounding village its name, venerated for its healing properties since pre-Christian times. Every year on the weekend before 24th June (Feast of St John the Baptist) the centrepiece of the Patronal Festival is the Well-dressing, one of the very few examples of this art form to be found south of Derbyshire.
Photo Gallery (10 photos)
Compass of the manual CC to G, 56 notes
Compass of the Pedals CCC to G, 20 notes
Open Diapason 8
Lieblich Gedact 8
Pedal permanently coupled